Dr Tanuja Shah is a Consultant Anaesthetist from the Royal Derby Hospital. She is the Honorary Secretary for Age Anaesthesia. 

Her other clinical interests include Emergency surgery and Peri-Operative care and she also has roles in education. She was part of the local organising committee for the  2016 Annual Scientific Meeting. 


Dr Philip Braude is a consultant geriatrician specialising in geriatric perioperative medicine in the Guy's and St Thomas' Proactive Care of Older People Undergoing Surgery (POPS) team. His research has focussed on embedding geriatric working in surgical units. He is currently looking at geriatric syndromes in cardiac surgery. He became a full Council member in 2016.


Anna Tennant RN, I am the Proactive Care of the Older Person undergoing Surgery (POPS) Nurse Practitioner at Musgrove Park Hospital for the Taunton and Somerset NHS Foundation Trust.  My clinical interests include perioperative medicine for the older person.

I hope my role on the AAA council will encourage other Allied Health Care professionals to attend perioperative events and feel confident to contribute their valuable ideas and experiences.


Dr Mevan Gooneratne is a Consultant Anaesthetist at the Royal London Hospital, which is part of Barts Health NHS Trust. His clinical interests include vascular anaesthesia, pre-assessment for the high-risk surgical patient, cardiopulmonary exercise testing and perioperative medicine.

Outside of the clinical setting, Mevan has completed a BSc in Philosophy as well as a MA in Medical Ethics and Law, both from Kings College London. These qualifications have supported his interests in end of life care, shared decision-making and the process of informed consent. He is also a faculty lead for the UCL Masters Programme in Perioperative Medicine.


Theo Joachim is an Orthopaedic Surgeon. He is the Lead for Hip Fracture Management at Pilgrim Hospital, Boston, part of United Lincolnshire Hospitals Trust.


He has a special interest in the peri-operative medical and surgical management of elderly trauma patients.



Dr Jugdeep Dhesi has been a co-opted Council member since 2008 and was elected as Honorary President in 2017. She is a Consultant Geriatrician at Guy's and St Thomas' NHS Foundation Trust. Her clinical interests include perioperative medicine for older people and at Guy's and St Thomas' she is clinical lead for proactive care of older people undergoing surgery (POPS)

Research interests include Health Service Research, Delirium and the Management of Anaemia in the peri-operative period.


Professor Chris Dodds, Middlesbrough (President, 1996-1999)


Dr Eleri Edwards, Wrexham (President, 2002-2005)

Professor Gwyn Seymour, Aberdeen (President, 2005-2008)

Dr Andrew Severn , Lancaster (President, 2008-2011)


Dr Irwin Foo, Edinburgh (President, 2011 - 2015)


Dr Tim Webb, Rhyl (Treasurer, 1996-2007)

Dr Richard Griffiths, Peterborough (Council Member 2007-2010)


Mr Alan Hale, Lancaster (AAA Administrator until 2015)

Dr Martin Allan, Salford (President, 2015-2018)


© Copyright Age Anaesthesia Association